From the Department of Give Me a Break

23 11 2009

Some people really need to get over themselves. I mean really get over themselves.
Apparently, an Best Buy ad that ran over the weekend put more than a few panties in a twist. Why? Because the ad contained a statement wishing people a Happy Eid al-Adha, which is the Muslim equivalent of Christianity’s Christmas. You can read about the furor by clicking HERE, and you can see the ad for yourself by clicking HERE. You’ll actually have to search for the blurb that’s causing all the controversy.
I’m not really one for poltical correctness, but I fail to see what the big deal is. We have freedom of religion in this country, which means people are free to practice whatever faith they choose.
If a company wants to wish a particular religious group a happy whatever, it has every right to.
What burns my toast, however, is the blatant secularization of Christian holidays. Santa and Rudolph have taken over Christmas, and the Easter Bunny seems to be the main focus of Easter.
I’ve got no problem with recognizing the holidays of other religions, and people who are critical of ads like the one run by Best Buy are being small-minded and petty.
But can Christians have their holidays back, too?

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2009
Shaun

I have no problem with people saying “happy holidays” around this time of year. After all, even most Christians celebrate two holidays at the end of December: Christmas and New Year’s. And if they want to include Hanukkah and Kwanzaa, go right ahead. But I do think they knowingly go overboard sometimes. For example, that Gap commercial, where they sing “Go Christmas, go Hanukkah, go Kwanzaa, go solstice!”. Ummmmm . . . . “Go soltice”? Are they kidding me? Honestly, how many people actually celebrate the winter solstice, without celebrating anything else? They are really stretching here. Will they wish me a happy solstice on June 21? I mean, that’s the solstice as well! They might as well say “Happy Festivus!”. If I start a new holiday (let’s call it Shaun Day), and only myself and three other guys observe it, can I get mad at Walmart or Gap if they don’t wish me a Happy Shaun Day? If they don’t say that, then I insist that they say “Happy Holidays”, so I can feel included.

If a Muslim came up to me and said “Happy Eid al-Adha”, I would say it right back to him. Or I might say “Merry Christmas” to him, because he is greeting me in his way, based on his beliefs, and I will greet him according to my customs. You know, “we are the world”, and such.

Leave a Reply

