Is Rusty still in the Navy?

8 12 2009

I going to go ahead and say this: I am not a fan of the Christmas season. I don’t like the frenzy at the shopping centers, I hate the tacky decorations that pop up at homes all over the place (word of advice, blow-up Santas or snowmen or blinking lights do NOT look nice), and I despise the cheesy Christmas music blaring over department store sound systems and radio stations.
However, I am a big fan of the movies and television specials that air this time of year.
No, “It’s a Wonderful Life” is not among those favorites, but there are so many movies and TV shows that make this season bearable. The combination of great humor, great storytelling and great message outweighs the cage matches over the latest holiday toy or the blow-up Tony Stewart cars with red bows on top of them (yes, I’ve actually seen one of those).
Without further ado … here are my top five Christmas season movies and specials of all time:

5. A Christmas Story (1983). The lamp. The Santa. The BB gun. I hope I put my eye out.

4. White Christmas (1954). Who doesn’t like a couple of Army buddies looking out for their old general? Plus, it’s got the best Christmas-season song of all time. And Rosemary Clooney was really hot back in the day.

3. A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965). Love the tree. Love how everything is brought back to the real Christmas story. Love the song at the end.

2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989). You don’t get much better than this when it comes to two hours of buffoonery that actually has a nice message about the importance of family. Plus, everyone has a Cousin Eddie in their lives.

1. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (1966). My favorite. Best Christmas special/movie of all time. The ultimate redemption story.