Would it kill you to treat me like a human being?

15 12 2009

I hate Time Warner Cable. I’m sure that’s not really anything earth-shattering, since just about everyone who doesn’t collect a paycheck from them hates them.
I especially think the cable company lists treating people like idiots and scum and having a nasty disposition as requirements for working in its customer service department.
Unfortunately, I had to deal with one of these urchins yesterday. The next time, I think I’ll staple an American flag to my butt and walk around downtown Tehran, because I’ll probably be treated better there than I did by this person.
The kicker of the whole thing was I called them because of Time Warner’s screw-up, and they acted like I was a common criminal trying to rip them off.
The woman on the other end of the phone was rude, condescending, and talked to me as if I couldn’t count to 20 without taking my shoes off. And at the end of the conversation, no “thank you for calling” or anything like that. Stupid maggot simply hung up.
The whole ordeal got me thinking about how customer service overall has been tanking over the past several years. It’s not just Time Warner.
Ever head through a McDonald’s drive-thru and have the person whose job is to take your order act like you’re a bother because you’re placing an order? Ever make a transaction at a bank without even speaking to the teller? Or buy a bottle of pop at a convenience store, and have to wait because the clerk is on that all important phone call making plans to go out later?
I just don’t get it. It’s goofy. I thought the whole point of customer service was to deal with customers.
Is it so hard to simply say “hey” and “thanks?” Saying “hello” is quicker than texting “OMG! LOL!” to everyone on your contact list.
Is it so hard to treat people with just the slightest smidgen of courtesy, especially when they’re paying you for a good or service?
I realize people can be a monumental pain in the tuckus from time to time. Believe me, I deal with them on a daily basis.
It still doesn’t mean they’re dog dookie on the bottom of your shoe.

I just realized that sounded like an old man trying to send back soup in a deli. Whatever.

Actions

Information

One response

15 12 2009
Shaun

2 comments

1. I just made a customer service call to Time Warner, and found the experience to be fine. Back in October, I had asked for a tier of cable channels to be removed from my service, and found this week that they had not yet been removed and I was still being charged. That was their mistake, but they immediately removed the channels and credited my account back to October. No problems, and the gentleman was very professional.

2. I worked at McDonald’s when I was 16, and worked the drive thru booth. And trust me, you are a bother to them, even though you’re just placing an order. They get paid peanuts, and the last thing they want to do is take your order. All you can do is be nice to them and not get cranky if your food takes 60 seconds to get there instead of the customary 45 seconds. I know you’re not doing anything wrong, but don’t expect professional service from 16 year olds getting paid $4.50 an hour (back in 1993).

Leave a Reply

