Getting a kick in the nuts

21 12 2009

One of the best things I’ve experienced since joining Facebook awhile ago is the chance to re-connect with people I haven’t seen or talked to in years. In many instances, I’ve gotten in touch with people I am truly glad to have crossed paths with over the course of my life.
For some people, I wish our paths would have crossed again in this life before it was too late.
I recently became aware that a good friend I had made as a freshman in college, W. Ross Clark, had fallen seriously ill. Today, I learned he died.
I’m not going to pretend that Ross and I were great friends to this day. In fact, I haven’t seen or spoken to him in years.
Still, the news hit me like a punch to the marbles.
My freshman year at Houghton College was a rough one. In fact, so rough that I left after that first year. But that year was made a little easier by a small group of people I had befriended while there, some I’ve since reconnected with as of late.
Ross was one of those people. He certainly had an unique way about him, but there was no denying that Ross was someone special. He was a great talent, a great personality, and a good friend for the time I knew him.
In fact, Ross is one of those people for whom I’m grateful that he and I shared the same road of life, even if it was for a short period of time.
A blog has been set up in Ross’ honor, which you can read by clicking HERE.
But even more importantly, check out the music he’s left behind by clicking HERE. I’m sure this is what he would want to be remembered for.
Rest in peace, my friend. Count me among those who are glad they had a chance to travel through life with you for a bit, even if it was for a short time.

Actions

Information

One response

25 12 2009
kristy

Well said Charlie. I think it’s pretty cool that you kicked this one out there for him.

Leave a Reply

