Me not so horny

24 02 2010

You are looking at the new bane of my existence. Actually, what you are looking at is an inanimate object I took with a crappy cell phone camera only because I didn’t have a chainsaw with me.
This is the fire horn that blows every time the Broadalbin-Kenyetto Volunteer Fire Department is called out to an emergency call. It’s located 500 feet from my bedroom window.
Last night, and into early this morning, considering the amount of “weather” this area received, this horn went off several times. In the overnight hours.
All to let us know that our tried and true fire department was answering the call.
Look, I have the utmost respect for firefighters. In fact, I have the highest respect for firefighters.
But let’s look at times, because they have a-changed a lot over the past 20 years or so.
Firefighters are supposed to have cell phones and pagers. I’m guessing that most, if not all, of them have scanners. I don’t think a blaring horn hitting what I’m guessing is a “G” above the high “C” is necessary to get the people you need on the job.
To top it off, the fire department’s headquarters is in a location where you could barely hear the alarm from the firehouse. So why is this sucker going off every time a call comes in?
There are several homes located directly in this horn’s blast path. I know for a fact some of these homes have young children who need a good night’s sleep.
I also know these homes have working adults who need a good night’s sleep in order to take care of these children and get to their jobs.
I’ve got news for the people responsible for this antiquated monstrosity. When that horn blares at 3 a.m., those who are shaken out of a dead sleep aren’t standing up and saluting our fire department with respect.
Instead, we’re still laying in our beds giving you the one-finger salute instead.

Shut the sucker down. It’s out-of-date, and it’s unnecessary.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 02 2010
LindyLou

I totally agree. This morning the sirens blared away – a possible fire in the business district was called in. The firemen were so thorough in searching out the possibilities, checking each business, and even taking the time to report back to store owners once the source of the smoke was found and determined to be a non-issue. Fire or not, the firemen did a great job. Was the siren necessary? Even if there had been a fire, I don’t think it was. I have been told that if it was my house burning I would want the siren to be blaring. However, with cell phones, pagers, and scanners I would think there would be enough ways to notify the firemen without this constant noise.

There have been complaints from health professionals that the siren is so loud it can damage hearing. There have been jokes from other fire companies because this siren can be heard in Saratoga County.

If there was a dire emergency, and no other way to get the attention of the populace, the siren would be necessary. For the daily needs of the community – fires, accidents, the non-fire this morning on North Main Street – I just don’t see the need.

27 02 2010
Laura

I totally agree that the horn is completely unnecessary and serves only to deprive citizens unlucky enough to live nearby of a decent nights sleep. I have been awoken far too often by the blare of that horn and everytime I pass the pole, I wish I could chop it down. I am a busy wife, mother and full time teacher. My alarm wakes me up early enough in the morning, I do not need a middle of the night wake up to let me know that someone has had an accident or that there might be a fire.

22 04 2010
wildthane

This should not be your last post. Go out on a steed of fire.

Leave a Reply

